General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Wrong clutch burned up now installing new one

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2018, 01:05 PM
Oglie2000

Default Wrong clutch burned up now installing new one

I recently bought a 2011 V6 manual mustang coupe. The dealerships did warn us that there was an after market clutch installed and it was really hard to push down. We just assumed it was a performance clutch without looking further. About 2 weeks into driving the car I was having difficulties shifting into 1st and 2nd and was told it was my driving since I'm new at driving manual cars. I bought the car to race. My friend that races and drives manuals took the car out and said it was slipping and I should have a few more miles before it went bad. However, within a day of finding this out my clutch burnt up. My friend did some calling around to clutch companies and they said most likely someone installed a V8 clutch in my V6 without the spacers

So here is the question: if I buy a specific clutch for the V6 do I need spacers? I'm looking at a RAM powergrip stage 2 clutch. Any suggestions or thoughts about the spacers?
Old 05-29-2018, 01:29 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

Spacers? never heard of such a thing on a clutch. A clutch setp is comprised of four main parts. Flywheel, throwout bearing, clutch disc and pressure plate (5 if you include the pilot bearing).

Anyways, a quick search reveals the flywheel is the same for GT/V6 of that year. The center spline of the Disc is the same for both (23T) and the thickness is the same 1". Only difference on paper is the diameter. 10.5 for V6, 11 for GT. That being said, I don't own a 2011 so if there are any differences, aside from what's mentioned, either the clutch company your friend talked to made some **** up or there's more to it than what shows up on paper.
Old 05-29-2018, 02:11 PM
08'MustangDude
Banned