Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

WOW!! Fred's tuner package is AMAZING!!

Search this Thread

Old 04-27-2006, 07:26 PM
UrS4
4th Gear Member

Default WOW!! Fred's tuner package is AMAZING!!

I installed the JLTII CAI and SCT Xcal2 tuner from EVO performance with 3 of Fred's custom tunes.

Let me start off by saying, I am no mechanic, so I did not beat the usual time of 30 min to install. It took me about an hour to install the CAI. It is not difficult, I am just retarded. Menace warned me about the clip holding the the single screw mount for the factory air box. I was trying to tease the clip free, but when I thought one last bit of gentle suggestion would do it "SNAP", broke the metal clip at the base where the clip met the bolt. Boy, it came out real easy after that . Followed the install instructions for the JLTII. After installing the heat sheild, it would have gone faster if I had attached the tubing to the pipe first. Attached the pipe to the elbow second, put the cone filter on third, attached the elbow to the throttle body fourth and hooked the MAF in fifth. Then tighten all the brackets, jiggle the unit to make sure everything fits snug and go over the brackets again. It took me forever to find the right fuses after reading the manual and getting the fuse tool from behind the passenger side kick panel and pulling the five fuses under the hood. Hooked up the SCT and installed the 87 octane tune. Put the fuses back in, and took the car for a spin w/ TC off.

Observations right away:
1) freer sounding exhaust. Small blips of the throttle and there was a nice intake sound.

Driving impressions:
Throttle lag about 50% gone in the lower rpms (2000 and lower)
Throttle lag for the most part gone above those rpms