Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

It IS Worth It

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2006, 11:33 PM
GT Premi
3rd Gear Member

Default It IS Worth It

I finally got my electric water pump installed Saturday and I have to say that it's definitely worth it! I'm gonna have to say that the claims of 11HP to the wheels is true. My butt-dyno and my neck say there is definitely more power hitting the pavement! When I drove it after the install, the freed HP was most certainly noticeable.

That is all.
Old 07-17-2006, 11:47 PM
johnnyv8
4th Gear Member

Default RE: It IS Worth It

Good to hear; but i have a question for you. I'm new to mustangs and modding them but how does a elec water pump make more hp and how much does it cost?

and are there any side effects w/ it?
Old 07-17-2006, 11:47 PM
BoidMorphs
3rd Gear Member

Would you say the feeling of extra power is about equal to when you put on the aluminum flywheel? Just wondering because I'll be doing both in the future.
Old 07-17-2006, 11:55 PM
cekim
3rd Gear Member

ORIGINAL: BoidMorphs
Would you say the feeling of extra power is about equal to when you put on the aluminum flywheel? Just wondering because I'll be doing both in the future.
Speaking of Aluminum flywheels, are people putting those in without balancing the engine?

Seems like you risk getting a rough drivetrain from the loss of inertia hiding whatever imbalance is there...
Old 07-17-2006, 11:59 PM
GT Premi
3rd Gear Member

Going from memory, I'd say this feels like it freed about the same as the flywheel, if not more.