Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Long tubes, but not yet

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2007, 01:55 PM
slySTANGguy
2nd Gear Member

Default Long tubes, but not yet

I am going to be getting long tubes, but as of the moment i cant install them, nor do i trust any of the shops in the near by area to install them, (i am a student at college, and i have the most basic tools and a parking spot), but i do want to go ahead and put on a mid pipe section w/ high flow cats that can eventually be upgraded to long tubes when i go back up to my home in PA, which i can put my car on the lift and install the long tubes. Or evolution performace is right near by.

Question is, which mid section does everyone reccomend me going with that i can upgrade to long tubes eventually. Thanks so much guys (and girls)
Old 05-31-2007, 01:59 PM
WhiteStallion06
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Long tubes, but not yet

The mid pipes for longtubes are different than those for without. If you were going for shortys youd be fine but long tubes usually come in a kit with the new mid pipe. The mid pipe has to be shorter for long tubes because they come out farther than stock. Also your cats will be relocated when you add the longtubes.

So best bet is to just wait till you get home a newx pipe with cats is only going to add a few hp anyway it wouldnt be worth it at this point if your planning on upgrading to long tubes
Old 05-31-2007, 03:28 PM
slySTANGguy
2nd Gear Member

I thought there were some kits that had a section that could be removed for long tube headers

Old 05-31-2007, 09:44 PM
DOBERMAN
1st Gear Member

SLP makes one. That's what I did , got the midpipe saved some money then got the headers.
Old 06-01-2007, 01:46 AM
WhiteStallion06
4th Gear Member