Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

New 05 GT mods

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2005, 05:47 PM
OkieNGa
1st Gear Member

Default New 05 GT mods

All,
1st, I am new to the mustang world as I just picked up my first about 5 days ago. Now that I have it, I want more horsepower, but who amongst us doesn't? Well here is what I am lookin at slapping on my Legend Lime stang:

Shorty Headers from Ford racing
JTL CAI with their XCaliber SCT-9300 flash
SHM Underdrive Pulley Kit

I am thinking that with these mods I should be able to get roughly another 50 horse, any thoughts from you wiley veterans out there?
Old 04-18-2005, 05:56 PM
mac10chap
4th Gear Member

Default RE: New 05 GT mods

i seriously doubt that those mods are gonna give you 50 horses man. I talked to some different people about the headers and everybody seems to be in tune with telling me that the shorty headers are only putting out around 5-7HP (go with long tube 15-20HP). The underdrive pulleys are around 8HP, and the CAI w/SCT is about 26HP...so on a perfect day in the middle of winter, you are gonna get maybe 40HP with those mods. That is a good start though and you will definately feel the difference with the CIA/SCT and the underdrive pulleys by themselves.

Good luck with everything, the 05 aftermarket world is growing fast...lots of decisions[sm=gears.gif]
Old 04-18-2005, 06:37 PM
GWFoos
2nd Gear Member

I bought the JLT CAI and the SHM underdrive pulleys as well. I will be adding those after the SCT xcalibrator arrives this week (hopefully). Following the baseline dyno, the mods added, and then another dyno, I will let you know where I am at on the GT and you can make the call from there. Should be in about a week or so that they will be done. It all hinges on the SCT getting here.