Notices
GT S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V8 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

help me decide.. 93 race or 93 torque tune?

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2008, 03:40 PM
EMichael
3rd Gear Member

Default help me decide.. 93 race or 93 torque tune?

i recently bought a C&L street intake and diablosport predator tuner for my 08 GT..

i called up bamachips and they told me about the 3 tunes they have for 93 octane.. i can't decide between the torque and race..

torque he said was good for DD which is what my car is but i do like going fast.. has anyone compared the torque and race and wanna share with me which one you prefer? lol

i've heard good things about the race and i think thats what most people get so should i go with that? i kinda want it because it seems like the favorite but the torque might be the better choice for me..

i'm a student a rutgers university so during school most of my driving is just back and forth home and campus through some traffic and rt 18 where all the construction is being done right outside the new brunswick campus..

any help or input is appreciated
Old 08-13-2008, 06:30 PM
Twiztga
2nd Gear Member

I had the same question; and spoke with Doug @ Bamachips. Doug said the performance and race tunes are very very similar. In fact he said the only difference in the race and perf tune is going to be throttle response and he recommends getting Race or Perf but not both for this reason.

I had originally ordered the JLTII with 87 Perf, 93 Perf and 93 Race but dropped the Perf for Torque. Doug said the race tune can be used for a Daily Driver as well its just that the car has more twitch to it off of the throttle.

Personally I'm going to run the Race tune for a while then swap to Torque for DD as it puts most of the power in the 1500-3500 RPM range which is where I'm at when I'm not flooring it.
Old 08-13-2008, 06:56 PM
modaddict
4th Gear Member