Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Shocks, Struts, Wheels

Search this Thread

Old 02-27-2011, 04:27 PM
pdonket
4th Gear Member

Default Shocks, Struts, Wheels

Hey all

I'm pretty new to cars in general, so I might have some stupid questions ahead. lol.

I thinking of changing the suspension up on the new mustang and i'm certainly in need of some advice.

Part of me realizes that I'm a poor college student that doesn't need to be spending extra money on things like that, but on the other hand I'm already feeling the mod bug. From what I've read, adjustable struts would be the best for a combination of an almost luxury smooth ride when I'm just cruising and then a nice stiff ride for when I feel like sporting around. I'm no professional racer thats for sure, but hey everybody with a mustang likes to have days of sporty driving.

I have no idea what to aim for in terms of a spring setup, what kind of drop do you guys think would be best for a setup with 19" wheels? I'm debating between either 18" 2010 SVT wheels or 19" Laguna Seca Wheels. In either case, I don't want to be rubbing I'm so low, and I'd like to have a little clearance so that working under the car while on ramps and such won't be terribly hard.

Thanks for any advice you can give me!
Old 02-28-2011, 01:12 AM
parchisi
3rd Gear Member

There are some pretty good non-adjustable shocks and struts out there like the Koni STR-T's, and they're cheaper and not on national backorder like the Koni Yellows. As for the adjustable dampers, the consensus is that the Koni's are better than the Tokico D-specs, although I am happy with my d-specs and found them to ride much better than stock.

As for springs, I guess that's up to you. The ford racing P springs advertise a mild 1" drop and are a little cheaper than the Steeda sports that everybody recommends, but then again, the steedas are recommended for a reason and aren't that much more expensive.