Tuner Central Have a question about which hand tuner is best for your Mustang? Talk about it here!

SCT Tuner Question

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2013, 08:13 PM
Obsidian71
2nd Gear Member

Default SCT Tuner Question

I picked up an '11 GT a few months back and it came with an SCT X3. Unfortunately, I bought the car from an independent dealer who took the car in on trade so I wasn't able to get any information on the tunes on the device. All I know is that the car has a Steeda CAI and with the 95mm MAF housing, and the tunes listed on the device screen are "11gt-steeda95mm" (currently loaded) and "95 cammed" (haven't tried). I'm new to the tuning scene and was hoping to get some information on those tunes. My gas mileage sucks at about 11-12mpg around town, and I'm not even sure if I should be running higher than 87 octane with the current tune (I've been running 87). I also noticed today driving it on icy roads for the first time that the TC doesn't seem to kick in the way it should, but if I rip it sideways pretty good the ESC seems to finally kick in, is the TC and the ESC adjustable through the tuner as well, and does the tune I have loaded now have them permanently set to sport mode??? If so, can I change that for the wintery conditions? I can't tune it back to stock because it runs like crap with the CAI and I don't have the stock air box. Any information would be greatly appreciated as I said, I'm new to the tuning world. The car runs great with no issues (other than a slight piston pin tick) and the idle sure sounds and feels badass with the tune, I would just like to know more about what I'm dealing with.
Also, is there any way to find out through the serial # on the tuner where it was purchased and if it came with "free tuning for life" from wherever it was purchased?
Thanks!
Old 01-06-2014, 08:42 AM
speakerman86
2nd Gear Member