V6 General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to V6 Mustangs.

New to MF, looking for car advice

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2009, 08:49 PM
Lorraine

Default New to MF, looking for car advice

Hello!

I didn't want to post in the wrong spot so I thought the newbie thread would be the best bet (because I'm a newbie). I've wanted a mustang for years, and I can finally afford one, but when push comes to shove, I'm a little nervous about my first buy. This will be my first car payment, so it's a big step for me - my current car is a '99 Plymouth voyager which was a gift from dad. Because this will be my first car purchase, I'm looking for some good advice before I make the plunge. I was hoping some enthusiasts out there might know something about what I'm getting into =)

The car I'm looking at is a bright yellow 2004 mustang convertible with a V6 engine right at $9,000. It looks like it has been well maintained - it has a little bit of paint peeling, but other than that, I don't see any problems. It has about 70,000 miles racked up. It's the 40th anniversary edition. The car fax shows one accident which was a very minor fender bender. I really love the car, but...

I'm mostly concerned about how low the car is to the ground. I'm used to driving a minivan and have been fairly careless about hitting curbs and taking bumps at a high speed. I'm also concerned about the fact that it's a convertible and if there tends to be wind noise and if I can expect the canvas to last... and my dad is concerned about safety if the car rolls over in an accident. I'm also concerned about the engine - it looks good and seems to run well, but I'm wondering if I should have it checked out with a mechanic just to be safe. I'm also extremely nervous because the car salesman is really pressuring me to buy the car right now, and I feel like I might be getting ripped off.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. Thanks, ya'll! =)
Old 11-28-2009, 09:42 PM
Cross_X