Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

How to wire gauges to dashboard (pic tutorial)

Search this Thread

Old 07-01-2006, 05:45 PM
tino
I ♥ Acer

Default How to wire gauges to dashboard (pic tutorial)

HOW TO RUN WIRING TO GAUGES IN THE DASHBOARDB

*** This tutorial is intended as a guide, I am no expert in the matter and take no responsibility if you damage your vehicle by following this guide ************

Now that the disclaimer is out of the way……….

Gauges usually require three connections;

---Lighting connection (bulb).
---Switched 12volt connection.
---Connection to the sender unit.

In this guide we will examine the first 2 connections.

This is a dry fit but you get the idea of the final product.

First we need to run the wiring from the dash are down thru the back of the glove box. The end connections on my wires are pretty big, so I snapped two plastic pieces out of the defroster vent (the pod will cover this nicely later)

Here you see all of the wires threaded thru and viewed from outside.

To accomplish the threading of the wires we need to open the glove compartment and while pushing inwards on both sides of the Glove compartment push down, the two rubber stoppers will slide clear of the glove comp frame and open wide to uncover the under dash…..

This is a look up and inside the under dash….see the rust on the bar and lower left corner…. Arrggg!!!

Those are the wires going up towards the dash (purple, red, white…) there is a gap in between the defroster conduit and the bottom of the dash…. That is your target the get the wires thru. (See second picture to locate exit point).

I put all of the wires except the switched 12Volt hot leads into a wire conduit and threaded it to the left under the front console see next series of pictures….

To the left driver side…….