Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

S/C Install question

Search this Thread

Old 07-16-2006, 05:44 AM
blazen351
I ♥ Acer

Default S/C Install question

Ok I'm deffinatley going some kind of forced induction in the not too distant future. I've got a plan in place that if everything works out I'll be paying off my car and my wifes car and getting my FI. Plus be putting some in to savings for the future. That's beside the point though. What I want to know is what setup would be best for someone that wants to do it themselves?? Now I know that is difficult to answer with out knowing a persons abilities sooo...I'm not a mechanic, but I have rebuilt a couple of older engines and those went well. I've done a few other things such as replace timing chains, and smaller things like starters alternaters and brakes a few times. I'm good with a wrench and follow and understand directions easily. I CAN'T rattle of specs and details and formulas like some of you guys though. I'm not real comfortable with something that I would have to do alot of fabricating for though, I don't have the recources for fabricating stuff and no experience other than being a decent welder with fabricating things. I'm also not comfortable with tapping into the oil pan myself, it may or may not not be hard, but I've never done that and it sounds daunting. So what do you thing? Could I install something like the X-charger, or mayber even the Procharger?? OR something else?? I really like the idea and the feeling of being able to say " I did that" No offense to anyone who had a shop do their's. I'm just a hands on guy and would really like the pride of doing it myself. I of course would have it dyno tuned by somebody, but the rest I want to be able to do myself.

Thanks!
Old 07-16-2006, 05:47 AM
workshop4ever
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: S/C Install question