Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2009, 08:24 PM
satur9poet
2nd Gear Member

Question Brakes

Since getting my Mustang earlier this summer, I've really begun to feel the difference between ABS and conventional braking systems. Driving my car and then my mother's car feels like day and night...

I admit I'm a total noob when it comes to ABS...but it seems like the brake pedal is "softer" and you need a firmer foot when stopping vs. standard brakes. It has also been my experience that on previous cars, I was replacing brakes quite frequently, every 10-20k miles. Yes, those cars were old used-up pieces of crap, but still. I encountered one poster here who replaced the brakes on his GT at 125K!

Right now I have 22K on the car with no issues. So...when can I expect to replace my brakes and how can I tell when they're failing? Remember I'm used to "old-fashioned" brakes for many years.
Old 09-12-2009, 11:49 AM
Joshspony
3rd Gear Member

ABS = anti-lock brake system. I am not a mechanic but that should not be the reason that your brakes feel good. You're driving an 08 as opposed to "an old used up piece of crap". The ABS will kick in if you really slam on the brakes or go over a big bump while braking and the pedal will kinda pulsate. That is the ABS turning the brakes on and off preventing them from locking on and scidding. I generally check my brakes, roughly every coulpe oil changes. I don't know how long the factory pads are suppose to last but I would think around 40-50k. They have "sqealers" on them, so when they are getting close they will sqeal upon braking. Telling you it will be brake time soon.
Old 09-12-2009, 01:25 PM
157dB
Cut & Paste Expert

A brake inspection cannot replace "feeling" the brake pads condition...
Old 09-12-2009, 05:29 PM
Joshspony
3rd Gear Member