4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Engine noise, wondering if it's normal

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2007, 12:24 AM
Doomtroop
2nd Gear Member

Default Engine noise, wondering if it's normal

Hey guys, I own a 2002 Mustang GT.

When I'm cruising around in my car,I always seem to hear a little metallic like noise coming from the engine between 2,200 and 2,500 RPM's in all the gears (especially when I'm moving slower or not so aggressively because I can pay more attention). It's not a big noise at all, it actually seems as if something was maybe moving and hitting a peice of metal in the engine bay (or exhaust? from my point of view it seems to be coming from the engine).

As I'm new to Mustang's, I was wondering if that little noise is normal and if it's something to worry about. Also, the previous owner had installed an aftermarket exhaust (flowmaster's) but I've had the car inspected in 3 places before purchasing it and everything was in excellent condition (and so was the car).

I'll also ask a quick second question since this is my first standard transmission car: can I "damage" the clutch if I press a little on the gas before depressing the clutch and engaging in first gear? Sometimes I do it (not on purpose), especially on a slope in traffic to avoid stalling the car. Fortunately, this problem doesn't occur often as I'm starting to really get the hang of the car and it's friction point.

Thanks for your input.

Nick
Old 03-26-2007, 12:30 AM
kenv
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Engine noise, wondering if it's normal

When I put the cat back on my `Vette, I forgot to tighten one of themounting bolts & it buzzed like crazy until I figured it out. It almost sounded like a bunch of marbles in a tin can. I don`t think you can damage the clutch by accidently giving it some gas while shifting. These things are not " that " fragile
Old 03-26-2007, 12:40 AM
Doomtroop
2nd Gear Member