Virginia Regional Chapter Chapter President: BabyGT

Totaled 2003 GT Mustang

Search this Thread

Old 02-15-2012, 07:12 AM
smithwh

Default Totaled 2003 GT Mustang

Hello all! On January 2012 I rear-ended my friend at a stoplight. We were on the way to the gunshow and I was distracted. It was out of character for me because I am a very safe driver.

The insurance adjuster/appraiser wants to offer me 6300 for the totaled vehicle. I dont know about that. It has 140,000 miles, red 2003 GT Mustang black leather premium 6 disc cd changer with the mach 460. power everything besides passenger side seat.

I wish I could post the appraisal report to this site but it doesn't look like I can. Thank you all.

Harrison
Old 02-29-2012, 10:48 AM
essayons
2nd Gear Member

I'm assuming this is settled by now, but here's some info for future use:

First question is what insurance company and in what area? I used to work for one in Northern Virginia, so I'm just curious.

But really, the first thing to do if you want to dispute the vehicle's value is to get your own value. Pulling a number out of the air will do you zero good. The first place I used to look when negotiating a vehicle's value was NADAguides.com. Gives you a good nationwide snapshot of value.
The next place to go is either autotrader.com or cars.com. Search for your year/make/model, plus or minus a year if you need more comparable vehicles, and search for similar miles. Search local (stay within as small a radius as possible to your home zip code) and compare. Stick with dealer ads as much as possible, simply for the fact that most private sellers really have no clue what their cars are worth, unless they've done all this same research (no offense to anyone who knows what their car is worth)

NADA returns $8,400 for the vehicle at clean retail. You can do your own local search.

Finally, take a good honest look at your car. I know they're all immaculate to us, as owners, but look at it objectively.