Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

mcguire's scratch x

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2008, 08:27 PM
ghandi

Default mcguire's scratch x

I just bought this stuff to use on my trunk where there is a scratch and it didn't work.

I dont know if im doing it wrong but the scratch isnt even deep it shows some white but thas about it i went over it with my finger and its a surface scratch.

It says on the bottle to apply a little bit and rub in and thats what i did also it says let it dry before you wipe it..
How long am i supposed to wait until i wipe it off and how hard am i supposed to rub it in and how long should i rub it for? yes im new to this stuff ahahah any help would be great! thx,
Old 07-12-2008, 09:15 PM
fullboogie
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: mcguire's scratch x

I used it many times on my black Lightning with a porter cable on the low setting and it worked great. You may not get the results you want with hand rubbing. Scratch X is a very mild abrasive, so don't be afraid to really get after it.
Old 07-12-2008, 09:58 PM
crazyray78

This stuff does work for small scratches, but buy a buffer!! You'll be working on it forever by hand.
Old 07-12-2008, 10:16 PM
Blacksmoke
The Paranoid One

Remember that this product is for LIGHT scratches. If you are seeing white, odds are it won't do the job.
But I actually have talked to the guy that hosts the "how to" videos of meguires.
He told me sometimes it takes up to three applications. I tried it and no luck with a scratch with white showing.
I actually ended up going to a shop where they showed me how to use touch up paint. I did it myself and it looks ALOT better.
But it was on the bumper. I wouldn't recommend doing it yourself on any other part of the car for risks sake but you can always take it to a shop, show um some cash, and ask them to put some touch up on it for ya.