Notices
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, exhaust, tuners/CAI, or gearing can be asked here!

Please explain Wheel Hop?....

Search this Thread

Old 03-13-2008, 01:42 AM
musicheadt
3rd Gear Member

Default Please explain Wheel Hop?....

I'm thinking this is when you cut your front wheels to either side, and try to do "Donuts" and your rear wheels hop, or jump.....it creates bumpy circular burnouts. Am I wrong?

A good defenition of wheel hop and the proper fix would be appreciated.

Thanks for all your help guys and gals!
Old 03-13-2008, 09:33 AM
28HopUp
MF Administrator

Default RE: Please explain Wheel Hop?....

If you wanna stop wheel hop, then stop doing burnouts [8D]

I'm not an engineer, but wheel hop occurs as the tires try to bite the pavement. As the tire(s) starts to spin, it lifts slightly. Once add'l power is applied, the motion becomes more pronounced. Sometimes you can power through the wheelhop so that it is spinning way beyond the point where the tire(s) gains traction.

Stock suspension components are not designed to stop wheel hop - they are designed to be cheap, safe, and provide as comfy a ride as possible. As such, there is a need in the aftermarket for parts to fix this problem and overcome wheel hop. Replacing the Lower Control Arms (LCA's) are a common first step. The Upper Control Arm (UCA) is also another part to consider. A girdle and panard bar are more for the hardcore enthusiast, IMO.

I've had a problem with wheel hop with my 4.0L/5spd coupe, even though I have LCA's and an UCA. I have tweaked my suspension components over the winter, and if wheel hop persists, then I will need to look at a pair of rear drag/performance shocks.
Old 03-13-2008, 06:49 PM
musicheadt
3rd Gear Member