4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Changing Tranny and Diff Fluid

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2006, 01:06 AM
Dragon02GT
2nd Gear Member

Default Changing Tranny and Diff Fluid

How hard is it to change the tranny fluid. I an guessign it has to be just like changing the oil. Is there a drain plug somewhere on the tranny? If so, where at. Where exactly is the plug or opening where I fill it up at. Anything special to use to fill it up, can;t imagine it's that easy to get a funnel down there?

Anaything special to worry about when changing the differential fluid. I heard that you need a special additive for the limited-slip differential that come on my car. Where do I get this additive, at any parts store that sells the diff fluid. Also, any pointers that I should kow about the 8.8 rear end when changing the fluid.

I kow some of you may think these are dumb questions but I have never done this stuff before, so thanks ahead of time for the input.
Old 04-12-2006, 11:18 AM
The Great Cornholio
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: Changing Tranny and Diff Fluid

ORIGINAL: Dragon02GT

How hard is it to change the tranny fluid. I an guessign it has to be just like changing the oil. Is there a drain plug somewhere on the tranny? If so, where at. Where exactly is the plug or opening where I fill it up at. Anything special to use to fill it up, can;t imagine it's that easy to get a funnel down there?

Anaything special to worry about when changing the differential fluid. I heard that you need a special additive for the limited-slip differential that come on my car. Where do I get this additive, at any parts store that sells the diff fluid. Also, any pointers that I should kow about the 8.8 rear end when changing the fluid.

I kow some of you may think these are dumb questions but I have never done this stuff before, so thanks ahead of time for the input.