4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Turn Signal/Hazard light flasher problem

Search this Thread

Old 11-27-2006, 09:28 PM
AJ06GT
5th Gear Member

Default Turn Signal/Hazard light flasher problem

Alright, here's one I know I should know, but I don't off the top of my head, especially not on this mustang since I've never worked on one before. Anyway, my turn signal gave up tonight. I tried to turn on the flashers because I was looking for someone's house and as usual, someone behind me wanted to go 90 through the neighborhood, so I tried to turn on the hazards and pull to the side, but they didn't work. When I did it I also remembered them not working before when I tried them another time.

Well, oh well I thought, but then as I was driving away a few minutes later, I noticed the turn signals no longer worked. I tried the hazards again, nothing, turn signal, nothing. Eventually after pushing the hazard light button enough and flipping the turn signal around enough I finally got one side blinking with the hazards, and when I got it back in the garage I even got both sides going for just a little while, but the turn signals don't work at all through all this.

I also noticed what can't be described as anything but a squeak as the flashers are flashing. I got the right sides going and from under the dash on the drivers side it's fairly noisily squeaking. I'm guessing the relay or something has gone bad, but I was surprised to hear a squeak, I just assumed it was all electrical and there was nothing mechanical about it.

Anyway, I searched around and found various questions, but mainly in 5.0, and I don't even know if that would apply to me. I figured a quick post here could probably get me a quick answer and I can still run down to Advance Auto Parts and grab a relay or whatever I need before they close.

Thanks guys!
Old 11-27-2006, 09:37 PM
Brute03
5th Gear Member