Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

4.10 GEARS STUPID???!!!???

Old 03-28-2006, 01:11 PM
persistantthug
2nd Gear Member

Default 4.10 GEARS STUPID???!!!???

I'm a complete noob with this Mustang but I've been listening to you folks talk about gears being the "best bang for the buck" in terms of speed/accel. So I told a guy at work about this and he claims it would be stupid to change the gear ratios because I would lose my top end speed/acceleration.

He went on a long tirade and explained how gears worked in a nutshell.

So, before I get my hopes all up and high for "GEARS", mabey I should get the scoop.

What and how much would I be giving up with 4.10 gears?
I have a manual GT.
Old 03-28-2006, 01:18 PM
Sidewayz6.0
Super Moderator

Default RE: 4.10 GEARS STUPID???!!!???

ORIGINAL: persistantthug

I'm a complete noob with this Mustang but I've been listening to you folks talk about gears being the "best bang for the buck" in terms of speed/accel. So I told a guy at work about this and he claims it would be stupid to change the gear ratios because I would lose my top end speed/acceleration.

He went on a long tirade and explained how gears worked in a nutshell.

So, before I get my hopes all up and high for "GEARS", mabey I should get the scoop.

What and how much would I be giving up with 4.10 gears?
I have a manual GT.
Well here's my short tirade on why that guy doesn't know what he's talking about. 4.10 gears in a basically stock Mustang will actually increase your top end. WHAT??? You say? Here's why. And I'm really tired of explaining it so all you others that like to give this advice "4.10's are WAY too much gear for your car on the street" take note.