5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Replace TFI Module - HELP! :)

Search this Thread

Old 07-28-2011, 09:08 AM
89StangGTConvertible
2nd Gear Member

Default Replace TFI Module - HELP! :)

Hey guys - got a new TFI Module (burning these things up like crazy in the heat). I also got some quicksilver thermal compound paste to apply to the back, and the TFI removal tool.

Ok, I am new to this... can someone please walk me through the steps? I know I remove the dizzy cap (duh!), what next? I have to turn the dizzy in order to get to the back TFI bolt. How do I do this exactly? I remove the dizzy hold down bolt? If so, where is it located? Any special wrenches? What do I mark (please be very descriptive) in order to get the dizzy back to original timed position - as you may have guessed, I don't have a timing light!

Next month I have someone installing 3.73 gears (hi Mike!), and I am going to see if he will remote locate the TFI module (http://www.mccullyracingmotors.com/i...es/tfikits.htm). But, in the meantime, I wanna drive!!!

Thanks for any help! I plan on doing this tomorrow afternoon.
Old 07-28-2011, 09:44 AM
nitrous_bob
6th Gear Member

it would be pure luck to get it back timed perfectly. it could be close but not perfect.... if you just mark the base of the dizz and the lower intake for a reference point. put it back in but if you turn it you'll be off...and you need to kind of let it turn as it goes back in anyways to seat all the way.

the hold down bolt is a 1/2" bolt right there you cant miss it

craftsman kakse a dizzy wrench for like $8.00 worth it's weight in gold.

just borrow a light from someone, even the parts store will let use it for free. might have to "rent" it for free. just a deposit on a card

its easy...you just need to get it close enuff to start then time it.