5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

New to the mustang scene

Search this Thread

Old 06-02-2012, 11:47 AM
Pickles

Default New to the mustang scene

As the title says I am new to the fox body scene. Been into the diesel performance a bit but just yesterday I bought myself an 88lx hatch back. Has a e303 cam, shorty headers new clutch etc. Only thing I am a trying to figure out is the intake on the car. Apparently the original owner(had it for 23 years) had tried to convert it to a mass air system, but never could get it running right. The guy I bought it off of, spent almost $6k at shops trying to diagnose the MAF system. Eventually the car had a 650 holley and wieland intake put on just to get it running.

Now where I am at is trying to decide if I should try to get the carb set up properly(was hacked in in a rush it seems) or install the EFI system back on and try to get the MAF system running?

By the looks of it, the distributor has a vacuum advance but no hose coming off it, I am pretty sure the carb doesn't have the vacuum secondaries hooked up and the choke which is electronic doesn't work as the car is very difficult to start when hot. All the while my garage stinks of gas from it sitting in there over night.

On a side note, my speedo, oil pressure and engine temp gauges arent working which I assume are due to the fact the computer is being bypassed for the carb setup?

All things being equal and the fact the car will be an occasional driver/strip car without any major mods, what would be the best overall setup? Carb or EFI?
Old 06-03-2012, 08:50 AM
foxstang302
1st Gear Member