General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.

What Cam ?

Search this Thread

Old 12-05-2005, 08:33 PM
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member

Default What Cam ?

After receiving answers about my intake manifold questions, alot of people told me that i would be better off replacing the heads and the cam. I think i am going to replace the heads with GT-40 heads because the pricing is pretty low, if anyone knows if there are heads that are just as good or better and around teh same price ( 250.00 $ ) a piece, please inform me. Now, about the cam....Is it really worth replacing ? How much gain am i going to get out of a better cam ? I was reading my hayness repair manual, and it seems to be time consuming, although i do have about 4 months to do everything i need to and can afford to. But something to keep in mind. i've never done anything like this before. I plan to be super careful and take my time with everything and read the manual all the way through the steps of the head replacement. So overall, is replacing the cam really worht it ? worth the money and the time ? thanx alot
Old 12-05-2005, 08:34 PM
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member

Default RE: What Cam ?

Also, can i use my valves and valve springs and all the other valve components on GT-40 heads ? or will i need new ?
Old 12-05-2005, 09:38 PM
OnyxCobra
6th Gear Member

i honestly dont think GT40 heads are worth it... my opinion is save for a better pair.
Old 12-06-2005, 07:29 PM
Ninety5five0
5th Gear Member

Are there any heads out there for under 400 $ a piece that are better than GT-40 ? I had my eyes on the GT-40 heads cuz they are cheap, and i'm sure they are better than my heads. But going all out and getting the good stuff would be the way to go here. Any cam suggestions ?

Old 12-06-2005, 11:48 PM
tinman
5th Gear Member

I need to know what drive train you've got and what are you planning to use the car for......