Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Help/Comments Requested - About to lower my 08

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2012, 09:12 PM
Bigplans87

Default Help/Comments Requested - About to lower my 08

Hello,

I am new to mustang forums but requesting assistance because I am planning on lowering my 08 gt. I have already installed BBK longtube headers but have found my steering shaft to be extremely close to the header (driver side), will lowering the car effect this close relationship good/bad/nothing? Did others have similar issues? I have attempted already to slightly offset the motor more to the passenger side with in the motor mount limits and it helped. Only on banked cornering do I ever feel the shaft come in to contact with the header.

I would also appreciate feed back on the following set-up that I have in mind. I know its last minute by I might buy shocks and struts tonight - CYBER MONDAY!!

Shocks and Struts - Tockico HP series
Lowering Springs - SR performance
Panhard Bar - J&M aluminum
Caster Camber plates - Ford Racing GT500 Style
Lower control arms - J&M (not sure if will include or not)

I appreciate the help!
Old 11-27-2012, 06:44 AM
jpplaw
3rd Gear Member

The steering shaft and motor will be lowered with the car, it won't make the shaft get closer to the headers.
I would suggest Koni STR.T struts and shocks, but Tokico's are fine too.
Old 11-27-2012, 07:26 AM
Jay@Hypermotive
Former Sponsor

Send me a pm, I'll work out a nice package for ya!!
Old 11-27-2012, 08:41 AM
Bigplans87

Thats what i was thinking, that the distance would remain fixed, I appreciate your help - i indeed go with the Konis as well depends whats on sale at time of purchase
Old 11-27-2012, 08:43 AM
Bigplans87

Hey Jay, by pm do you mean your email - Jay@hypermotive.com? where are you in NC? I am around the Charlotte area
Old 11-27-2012, 11:23 AM
Jay@Hypermotive
Former Sponsor