SVT Forums

More power for a 2001 Cobra

Search this Thread

Old 11-10-2007, 09:27 PM
honcho_44

Default More power for a 2001 Cobra

Good evening everyone! I'm looking to add more power to my '01 Cobra and I'm looking for suggestions as to what I can do that gives the best bang for the buck. I looked through a couple of pages of posts, but most people seem to ask about the '03 or '04 Cobras.

Anywho, I need some opinions on what I can do to gain some power. I was looking at a new intake, but I can't decide between a JLT or K&N. Also, a new exhaust would be nice, any opinions?

I've heard that the stock engine in the '01 is good until about 500hp, after that you'd need forged internals. Are there any complete turbo kits that would get me up around that level?

Brakes... brakes are good. Anyone go with drilled and slotted rotors, or something of the sort?

I know it's a lot of questions, but I'm new to modding a car and I really want experienced opinions. Please post any links that you think may be helpful!
Old 11-10-2007, 09:34 PM
jEEd
I ♥ Acer

Default RE: More power for a 2001 Cobra

i know i dont have a cobra but i hope i helped a bit.

if you had to pick between an intake brand. JLT is what most people on here will tell you and even i have one.

for a Catback Exhaust, its all sound / up to you. troll streetfire/youtube and listen to cars. and if i had a 99/01 cobra i would get an M-55 Catback :] cheap and sounds badass on cobras.
Midpipe: i would go with an X pipe of any brand [Stainless Steel] (O/R if it permits or Catted if you need to pass smog)

turbo kits: if you wanted one, you would have to look into some universal turbo kits like STS , or you could just do what most people do and buy the supercharger kits that are made for mustangs so you dont have to hassle fabbing n such ( most common brands: Prochager[centrifugal] / Vortech[centrifugal] / Kenne Bell[twin screw], etc...)