Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Anyone have the street scene wire harness?

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2006, 01:01 AM
teacherman
3rd Gear Member

Default Anyone have the street scene wire harness?

Just got it today and the instructions a pretty straight forward. The only thing I am confused about though is the wire connecting to the actual on/off switch.

The instructions read as follows:

"Plug the oem wire harness into head lamp switch. Plug the SS wire harness into the switch. Unwrap the black tape on the wires going to the head lamp switch. Locate the RED wire with white stripe..."

What exactly do I do here? The wire that goes to the SS switch is green. Are they talking about the wires that are ALLREADY inside connected to the headlights? Really confused. Help me out, I am just a simple minded teacher LOL
Old 09-20-2006, 01:07 AM
pat6674u
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Anyone have the street scene wire harness?

Funny, I was just looking at my harness set up a few minutes ago. The Red SS wire splices into the red/white wire on the headlight switch. I believe they provide a crimp-connect for this. The other SS wire is black and I believe that is a ground wire. Don't unplug the wire harness as that just makes the headlights turn on. Just make sure the switch is off or you'll be "shocked" at what happens next. Ha, Ha.
Old 09-20-2006, 01:22 AM
afixer
5th Gear Member

yes it is a ground wire you can test your lights by going to ground. you need to unhook the wire from the switch so you can pass it thru the firewall. you can also unhook the plug for a moment and crimp on the wire to the red white on the switch. i chose to get the gt switch and hooked it up diff so i didnt have to drill my switch. also teach i pmed you on the collective with my phone # you can call me if you want
Old 09-20-2006, 01:37 AM
teacherman
3rd Gear Member