Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Exhaust question

Search this Thread

Old 03-31-2007, 12:12 AM
alamo11

Default Exhaust question

hey guys, this is my 1st post to the forum and I am a newbie at this. but I keep reading that the V-6 has dual exhaust, which is fine. I want one too. The thing is I want to keep it looking more or less stock. Can the drivers side muffler be hidden behind the bumper with turn down tips and still work? If so, a friend told me I should ask the muffler guy that I want true duals with a corssover bar and Flowmaster Super 40's. I trust my friend, but, before i mess with my car I just want more people to tell me that its possible and to find out if he actually knows what he is talking about. He is one of those guys that can pretty much make you believe anything!
Is a crossover bar just another name for a Y? an H? or X?
Thanks for any help!
Also I keep seeing that some of the members here have MRT mufflers. I did a google and found the website but I dont get how a muffler can sort of...suck in air? I read the Q&A on the website but it either went over my head or it will hit me when I stop thinking about it.

Old 03-31-2007, 12:34 AM
GstangT
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Exhaust question

Yeah a shop can just fabricate what you want. Depending on the sound you want, H for a little deeper sound, and X for louder, but I wouldn't stick with the Y. If you want to stick with the stock look, get GT take-off mufflers, they're cheap, sound decent, is less restrictive than the v6 muffler, and gives you that stock look you want. But the flow 40's wouldn't be a bad idea either, it really just depends on what you want. I heard our 6's do better with crossovers (X or H), and not just straight pipes. Good luck on your decision.
Old 03-31-2007, 02:31 AM
OZ_Tambo
1st Gear Member