Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

power steering problems

Search this Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 10:36 AM
Principe71

Default power steering problems

Hello friends, this is my first time logging in your forum and I am honoured in doing so. I live in Genoa, North Italy and hold a Mustang Convertible 1966 with engine 289 V8 4,7 lt. I bought it three years ago in North Carolina via internet and, at huge costs, I brought it into my place. Since then, I am trying to renovate and refresh the car, step by step, by changing parts in the body, engine, etc... In a few days I will post a couple of pictures sothat you can have a look at my baby. There are just 2 classic Mustangs in my town hence you can imagine how exciting is driving around with such an amazing car. Unfortunately, even if I did always find the proper parts to purchase via internet c/o shops like CJ PonyParts, technical assistance here is a problem because, despite the fact this car is quite simple and without electronics, most of the mechanics here have never seen this car before. I often have to support them with manuals, books, articles but it does not work all the times. Perhaps some of you can help me on how to solve the problem I am facing now. The steering power, even if the belt is fully working and liquid is there, from a day to another did stop to work. Everything seems to be fine but she does not work and steering has become hard. Would you please enlighten me how to remove such problem? Thanks. Filippo
Old 03-11-2013, 10:45 AM
rmodel65
Yukon Cornelius

Io non parlo Italiano, ho appena usato un traduttore di internet. Come senti sola eliminazione complessivamente il sistema di sterzo? Che è una delle prime modifiche ho fatto alla mia Mustang 1965. L'auto è abbastanza leggero e sterzo sforzo non è poi così alta. Personalmente per me togliere qualcosa come il servosterzo sistema fatto di senso perché potuto guidare senza di esso facilmente.

Rmodel65