Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

i Just put on a full exhaust system on My 05 GT

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2006, 09:43 PM
billyjo
2nd Gear Member

Default i Just put on a full exhaust system on My 05 GT

Hello i just last night put on a new exhaust system not removing the headers but everything else. I am no mechanic and my wife and i put it on with some help from my father. IT took 7 hours due to some stupid things that ford did that tripped us up. First off the parts were Slp cats and x pipe and moto blue over axle and rs series mufflers. The hardest part and most time consuming was getting the old cats off. They made near impossible to get to the passenger side bolts. Also they were on there so hard that it took superman to get them off. We had to heat them up with a torch 5 times to loosen them and then they screamed like a banshee when they came loose. After that it was not too hard but just time consuming. There were three o2 sensors that i had to move into new places and the hardest was the top on the p-side. I needed to remove it from the harness holder keeping it in place to give it the extra half inch to fit in the new hole. Also SLP supplied extensions for the other two o2 sensors which worked great. We got all the bolts loose and off but it would not come off the rubber grommets that hold all the exhaust in place. I needed to remove the mufflers from the back in order to get the hole system out. The muffler is held up by two rubber grommets. Each are held on by two 13m bolts. Take those off and it made everything easy. Once we got the system off the fun started. A big suggestion is to put never ces on all the bolts. it helped when i needed to remove the bolts a couple of times to adjust the pipes. The slp pipes where perfect and fit great and the tail pipes were also fitted perfect. For after market they were better then factory. You need to start from the front a and wo