4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Some questions about cosmetic damage on a Mustang I'm buying/price/test drive questions

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2005, 04:07 AM
karak567

Default Some questions about cosmetic damage on a Mustang I'm buying/price/test drive questions

I am a newbie (as you can tell from my post count) taking my first dive into the Mustang world. I found an 02' Mustang GT only 50 miles or so from my house for sale privately. The owner wants 12,500 dollars for it. It has a Flomaster exhaust in it and KJ air filter. It has 38,000 miles.

There are, however, some cosmetic issues with the 'Stang. On the passenger side door there is a half-dollar sized ding/scratch (he lost control in the snow and hit a bush) and on the driver door there are two small scratches. How much am I looking to pay to get these removed/touched up at a shop? Will it look like new again?

Three of the four tires also need to be replaced within the next 1000 miles or so.

One of the biggest issues is the rims (17" alloy premium wheels?) have heavy scratch damage on them from hitting a curb. One of them is bent in, it looks like it can be easily hammered out and the rims buffed... but should I be concerned about anything else?

Also, when I test drive it (I already have once) for the last time before writing the check, what should I look for? Any specific things I should try/listen for to make sure everything is alright? I will also be getting it checked out at my mechanic as well.

Any other tips?

I appreciate the help, thanks!

-Eric
Old 03-28-2005, 08:24 AM
krafty02
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: Some questions about cosmetic damage on a Mustang I'm buying/price/test drive questions

Let me be the first...... WELCOME to the wonderful world of mustangs !

I bought my 02 GT from a dealer for $12,900 with no damage, no mods, and 31,000 miles. (also, brand new tires)

You cannot repair the rim.