New Member Area Are you new to Mustang Forums? WELCOME! Check in, tell us about yourself and your ride.

Hi everyone...

Search this Thread

Old 04-09-2005, 03:11 PM
1cobra1

Default Hi everyone...

I'm michael, and I am a ford addict... Oh that is another group... Sorry. I found the fourm quite by accident the other day and thouhgt I'd say hi. I'm a 39 year old engineer from Northern California and after a short hiatus to get married and buy a home I'm back doing what I love. Building Fords. I'd say building Mustangs but something happened 3 years ago that changed that a little. I found a 1966 Cobra replica in need of a restoration. It had been in a guys garage not running for 5 year with his cats using it as a bed. Long story short he was hooked on pain killers and his wife was a crack addict. She'd basically smoked everything they had and was about 3 days away from losing their home in foreclosure and needed some cash to move. I asked if he wanted to sell his car. He called me the next day.

http://www.clubcobra.com/photopost/s...cat=500&page=2

I mentioned I was a ford addict. Born in the 60's I grew up watching Trans-Am and NASCAR races with my dad. Something about the shapes and lines of the second generation mustangs was overpowering, especially with the fenders blown out for racing tires. I knew I was a car guy before I could ride a bicycle. We always had a few old cars around in various states of repair. Mostly out of necessity. If one wouldn't run, you'd better have a spare. What can I say. Dad was a blue collar guy. More than once I had to tell him his Corvair was on fire again.