Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Dangers and cost in swapping suspension parts?

Search this Thread

Old 07-29-2011, 09:25 PM
Cutting
1st Gear Member

Default Dangers and cost in swapping suspension parts?

Hey Guys,

I've been seriously considering doing LCA's, relocaton brackets, and an adj panhard on my 08 GT as first steps in a suspension revamp. The car is not lowered yet, but it will have most of the big stuff - shocks, struts, springs, etc - done piece by piece as I go.

The kits i'm looking at are UMI, the bolt on brackets and non adjustable LCA's. I'm not going to track the car, but handling is a big deal to me and i have fun doing the work so if it helps kill some wheel hop and drops the ride a bit in the process, it's relatively cheap thrills.

My main concern is in some of the reading I've done there's quite a bit of post-install maintenance involved. I'm do my due diligence, but as a daily driver I don't want to have 1k miles go by where i don't check the torque marks and have the LCA's fall off or brackets break loose. I know also that steeda and some others make "maintenance free" versions which scare me in their own rite. Would it be worth it to pony up the extra?

Lastly, something that I think i know the answer to but want to ask anyway: Any time we remove a wheel, or tweak any aspect of the suspension we really have to pony up the $60 for an alignment, correct? Rubber's expensive, but so is $60 on each part so it would affect my methodology..

Thanks!

DC
Old 07-29-2011, 09:45 PM
scottybaccus
2nd Gear Member