General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Undercoat questions. Please help I’m don’t have enough mechanical knowledge.

Search this Thread

Old 08-13-2018, 07:39 AM
Matthew Slicker

Default Undercoat questions. Please help I’m don’t have enough mechanical knowledge.

Hello all, I just recently got my first Mustang and first car I really care about. I’m planning on applying an undercoating because I live in the north and get a lot of snow and therefore salted roads. My question is not about what undercoating to use I already have one picked out. My problem is I keep hearing people say not to get the undercoating on certain places like anything that gets too hot. Well I’m not a mechanic I’ve only ever done small regular maintenance type stuff like oil changes and spark plugs and filters. Other than the exhaust pipes I don’t know what’s too hot to undercoat. Please can you help me identify which parts should not be under coated whether because they get too hot or for any other reason? Thank you for your time.
Old 08-13-2018, 06:03 PM
08'MustangDude
Banned

You can get professional undercoating, or, thoroughly clean the underside, and
use a rubberized undercoating. The most expensive is FlexSeal, that's what I
use. There is also a chassis paint, that goes on thick... You can roll that on
almost anywhere.

I think there are still some Ziebart places around, I show two within 20 miles of
me, so something I may even consider... I can afford it now...
http://www.ziebart.com/find-my-local.../pittsburgh-pa

http://www.ziebart.com/auto-care-ser...ust-protection
Old 08-13-2018, 06:15 PM
Matthew Slicker

Default Undercoat